Bloomsburg Area School District
Board of School Directors
Special Meeting
Monday, 5 August 2013
7:00 p.m.
District Office Board Room

MINUTES

Attendance

A special meeting of the Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors was called to order at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, 5 August 2013, in the district office board room, followed by the pledge to the flag. Directors in attendance were: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Justin Hummel, Ms. Marianne Kreisher (arrived at 7:02 p.m.), Mr. Normal Mael (arrived at 7:07 p.m.), Mr. William Snavely, and Mr. Thomas Tobin. Mr. Brent Hock and Mrs. Sandra Rupp were absent from the meeting.

Bloomsburg Area School District administrators in attendance were: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, Mr. Nick Wozniak, and Mr. Michael Upton.

Others present were: Mrs. Kelley Dravenstott, Mr. Ronald Dravenstott, Ms. Stephanie Kessler, and Mrs. Deb Krupp.

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS & PERSONS WISHING TO SPEAK

Mrs. Krupp addressed the board at this time to thank Mr. Palmatier for the new drop-off procedures at Memorial Elementary School.

Mrs. Fiedler moved to amend the agenda to remove Personnel Item D ("Approval of Professional Staff") from the meeting agenda. Mrs. Crawford seconded this motion, which then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

NEW BUSINESS

Approval of Changes Orders

Mrs. Fiedler made the motion, which Mrs. Crawford seconded, to approve as presented the change orders relative to the middle school natatorium and generator projects.

Ms. Kreisher arrived at this point in the meeting.

The motion then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Approval of Mileage Rate for Bus Trips for 2013-2014

Mr. Tobin made the motion, which was seconded by Mrs. Fiedler, to approve increasing the mileage rate for field trips and athletic trips for Bloomsburg Area School District contractors from \$2.19 per mile in 2012-2013 to \$2.23 per mile, effective 6 August 2013. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

PERSONNEL

Approval/Acceptance of Personnel Items

Mrs. Fiedler made the motion, which Mrs. Crawford seconded, to approve/accept the following personnel items:

- Accept the following classified staff resignations:
 - o Beaver-Main Elementary School Cook Robert Dippel, effective 6 August 2013; and
 - o Memorial Elementary School Paraprofessional Cheryl Tolan, effective 6 August 2013;
- Accept the resignation of Bloomsburg High School Half-Time Spanish Teacher Gina Radosta, effective 6 August 2013;
- Approve the following classified staff transfers, effective 6 August 2013:
 - o Memorial Elementary School Food Service Aide Carolyn Blyer from a 2-hour-per-day position to a 3-hour-per-day position;
 - o Memorial Elementary School Food Service Aide Jessica Rhodes from a 2.5-hour-per-day position to a 3.5-hour-per-day position;
 - o 3-Hour-Per-Day Memorial Elementary School Food Service Aide Edith Pagan to 2-Hour-Per-Day Bloomsburg High School Food Service Aide;
 - Memorial Elementary School 6-Hour-Per-Day Cook Susan Adams to 6-Hour-Per-Day Bloomsburg Middle School Cook;
 - o Classified Substitute Martha Breisch to a 2-Hour-Per-Day Memorial Elementary School Food Service Aide; and
 - o W.W. Evans Elementary School Health Aide Amy Weaver to the position of W.W. Evans Elementary School Secretary, effective 6 August 2013;
- Approve the following as classified staff members:
 - O Stacey Woodley as a 3-Hour-Per-Day Beaver-Main Elementary School Food Service Aide, at \$8.25/hour and with benefits offered as per the negotiated contract, effective 6 August 2013:
 - Mary Hubler as a 5-Hour-Per-Day Memorial Elementary School Cook, at \$8.25/hour and with benefits offered as per the negotiated contract, effective upon receipt of her Act 114 Clearance and tuberculosis test results;
 - O Andrea Smedley as a classified substitute (cafeteria staff), effective upon receipt of her Act 114 Clearance and tuberculosis test results;
 - O Nancy Williams as a classified substitute (cafeteria staff), effective upon receipt of her Act 34, 114, and 151 clearances and her tuberculosis test results;
 - o Jean Zellner as a classified substitute (cafeteria staff), effective upon receipt of her tuberculosis test results; and
 - o Elizabeth Williams as a classified substitute (health aide), effective upon receipt of her updated Act 34, 114, and 151 clearances and her tuberculosis test results;
- Approve the bus and van drivers for 2013-2014 as presented;
- Approve the following individuals as athletic coaches for 2013-2014:
 - o Meghan Ashford Assistant Cross Country Coach Step 1 \$1,095.00;
 - o Kristin Fisher Volunteer Fall Cheerleading Coach;
 - o Jonathan Joseph Volunteer Assistant Boys' Soccer Coach;
 - o Alexis Knorr Assistant High School Field Hockey Coach Step 1 \$1,529.00;
 - o Tyler Coombe Assistant Junior High Football Coach Step 1 \$1,448.00; and
 - David Wood Transfer from Assistant Junior High Football Coach (already approved) to Assistant Varsity Football Coach – Step 1 - \$1,738.00; and
- Approve a leave of absence for W.W. Evans Elementary School Paraprofessional Sharon Heydenreich, effective from 6 August 2013 through 31 October 2013.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Approval of Professional Staff Transfer

Mrs. Fiedler made the motion, which was seconded by Ms. Kreisher, to approve the transfer of Beaver-Main Elementary School Half-Time Reading Specialist Kelley Dravenstott to the position of Full-Time W.W. Evans Elementary School First-Grade Teacher, at Step 1 Masters and an annual salary of \$37,853.00 and with benefits as per the negotiated contract, effective 6 August 2013. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Approval of Professional Substitutes

Ms. Kreisher made the motion, which Mrs. Fiedler seconded, to approve the following individuals as professional substitutes, effective for the start of the 2013-2014 school year:

- Sarah Snedeker (former W.W. Evans Elementary School Teacher) and Alicia Burcicki professional day-to-day substitutes;
- Stephanie Hock long-term behavior support specialist for 2013-2014 for three days a week at \$100/day; and
- Debra Gorak and Stephen Fluck (CSIU Guest Teachers for 2013-2014) professional day-to-day substitutes.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 7:08 p.m., Mrs. Fiedler made the motion to adjourn the special meeting and move into the work session. Ms. Kreisher seconded this motion, which then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephanie Kessler Recording Secretary

Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors Work Session Monday, 5 August 2013 - 7:00 p.m. District Office Board Room

MINUTES

- I. Buildings, Grounds, & Maintenance Report
- II. Administrative Reports
 - AP/Honors Weight and Changes to BASD Grading
 - Keystone Exam Data
 - Keystone Math Remediation
 - Special Ed Keystone Remediation
- III. Air Conditioner BMS Cafeteria
- IV. Safe Schools Report * (See following page.)
- V. Data Breech Service Proposal
- VI. CMAVTS Report
- VII. CSIU Report

Board members present: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Justin Hummel, Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Mr. Normal Mael, Mr. William Snavely, and Mr. Thomas Tobin.

Board members absent: Mr. Brent Hock and Mrs. Sandra Rupp.

Staff members present: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, Mr. Nick Wozniak, and Mr. Michael Upton.

Others present: Mrs. Deb Krupp.

Speakers: None.

Executive Session: An executive session was held from 8:28 – 8:58 p.m. for the purpose of discussing negotiations.

Adjournment Time: 8:28 p.m.