Bloomsburg Area School District
Board of School Directors
Special Meeting
Monday, 2 July 2012
7:00 p.m.
District Office Board Room

MINUTES

Attendance

A special meeting of the Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors was called to order at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, 2 July 2012, in the district office board room, followed by the pledge to the flag. Directors in attendance were: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Brent Hock, Mr. Justin Hummel, Mr. David Klingerman Jr., Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Ms. Cristina Mathews, Mrs. Sandra Rupp, and Mr. Thomas Tobin.

Bloomsburg Area School District administrators in attendance were: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, and Mr. Michael Upton.

Others present included: Ms. Stephanie Bowes, Mrs. Sara Broadt, Mr. Charley Chyko, Mr. William Fitch, Ms. Roberta Kistler, Ms. Kayle Kowalsky, Mr. Stan Kowalsky, Ms. Donna Kreisher, Mr. Mark Kruczek, Mrs. Deb Krupp, Dr. Kerry Moyer, Mr. Brett Seeley, Mr. Bob Sitler, Ms. Carol Tevis, Mr. Richard Tevis, Ms. Dianne Warren, Mr. Todd Warren, Mr. Greg Zimmerman, and Ms. Kathy Zimmerman.

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS & PERSONS WISHING TO SPEAK

Several guests addressed the board to voice their disapproval of the potential consolidation of the Bloomsburg Area School District and the Central Columbia School District.

NEW BUSINES

Acceptance of Donation

Ms. Kreisher made the motion, which Mr. Tobin seconded, to accept the donation to the Bloomsburg Area School District of a nine-foot exhaust hood to be used in the band booster stand from Commercial Stainless, at a value of \$6,278.13. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

PERSONNEL

Approval/Acceptance of Personnel Items

Mr. Hock made the motion, which was seconded by Mrs. Fiedler, to approve/accept the following personnel items:

- Steffanie Bowes as a .4-Time Art Teacher at W.W. Evans Elementary School, at Step 1 BS and an annual salary of \$14,210.40 and with benefits as per the negotiated contract, and also to add her to the professional day-to-day substitute list, effective for the start of the 2012-2013 school year; and
- The transfer of Heather Starr from a Memorial Elementary School Life Skills Paraprofessional to a Bloomsburg High School Learning Support Paraprofessional, and the transfer of Beverly Smith

from a Bloomsburg High School Learning Support Paraprofessional to a Memorial Elementary School Life Skills Paraprofessional, effective for the start of the 2012-2013 school year.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

ADJOURNMENT TO WORK SESSION

At 7:03 p.m., Mr. Tobin made the motion to adjourn the special meeting and move into the work session. Mrs. Fiedler seconded this motion, and it then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephanie Kessler Recording Secretary

Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors Work Session Monday, 2 July 2012 - 7:00 p.m. District Office Board Room

MINUTES

- I. Consolidation Study
- II. Flood Mitigation Option
- III. Buildings, Grounds, & Maintenance Report
- IV. Administrative Reports
- V. Attorney General's Educational Programs
- VI. Tenure
- VII. CMAVTS Report
- VIII. CSIU Report
- IX. Executive Session to Discuss Personnel Matters The motion to move into executive session to discuss personnel matters was made by Ms. Kreisher and seconded by Mrs. Rupp. The motion then passed by a voice vote of seven yes votes to two no votes (being Mr. Klingerman and Mr. Tobin). The executive session was held from 9:12 9:30 p.m.

Board members present: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Brent Hock, Mr. Justin Hummel, Mr. David Klingerman Jr., Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Ms. Cristina Mathews, Mrs. Sandra Rupp, and Mr. Thomas Tobin.

Board members absent: None.

Staff members present: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, and Mr. Michael Upton.

Others present: Ms. Stephanie Bowes, Mrs. Sara Broadt, Mr. Charley Chyko, Mr. William Fitch, Ms. Roberta Kistler, Ms. Kayle Kowalsky, Mr. Stan Kowalsky, Ms. Donna Kreisher, Mr. Mark Kruczek, Mrs. Deb Krupp, Dr. Kerry Moyer, Mr. Brett Seeley, Mr. Bob Sitler, Ms. Carol Tevis, Mr. Richard Tevis, Ms. Dianne Warren, Mr. Todd Warren, Mr. Greg Zimmerman, and Ms. Kathy Zimmerman.

Speakers: Dr. Kerry Moyer

Adjournment Time: 9:12 p.m.